Paul & Joe x Alice In Wonderland

Whilst I’ve largely overlooked the seemingly endless Alice In Wonderland collaborations, this was one I couldn’t ignore. Paul & Joe have created two limited edition kits to tie in with the upcoming film and I picked one up yesterday. Again I’m not sure when they were officially released in stores, but this was the first time I’d seen them in person so I would assume very recently. They retail for 34€ and I got set 001, Fantasy.

Each set is packaged in a pretty card box (this was hard to take good pictures of, the gold lettering didn’t show up very well!)

Inside each box is a pretty tin containing a tinted lip treatment, blotting paper compact and blotting paper refill (I think there’s 100 in each).

The tin

Front, back and inside of blotting paper compact, this is made from a leather effect material.

Blotting paper refill packaging

Lip Treatment Stick, the tube is cardboard.

Overall this is a nice, well designed and useful kit. I’ve read that it works out as fairly good value to buy the set as opposed to buying the items seperately, though I haven’t done the numbers myself. The lip treatment stick is essentially clear, though it does minimally tone down the pigmentation of my lips – but it’s nicely moisturising without being waxy or heavy. Paul and Joe doesn’t seem to usually sell out but there’s been a lot of buzz about this collaboration so I hope that it will encourage people to look at their other products as well.

I also received a GWP for spending over 50€, which was a brush roll decorated in the same fabric as the new potted glosses. I really wanted this because I don’t have anything similar for packing brushes when I travel, and I was pleased to see that it’s well made, with 8 slots of different widths and a net pocket for smaller items and sponges. However as you’ll see, it’s not big enough for some of my longer brushes! For scale I’ve used a MAC 217 which fits perfectly and a MAC 129 which is just a bit too long.

2 Responses to “Paul & Joe x Alice In Wonderland”


  1. 1 Replica March 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Great post! I keep getting tempted by this, even though I don’t use blotting papers, guess I’m a sucker for pretty packaging 🙂

  2. 2 miu_miu March 22, 2010 at 8:46 am

    Thank you! Even if you don’t use blotting paper, lip balm and a mirror are always useful, so totally justified 😉


Leave a Reply

